More About Bill


Chosen by Advertising Age as the single most influential person in the last 100 years of advertising for their Advertising Century issue in 1999, Bill Bernbach received numerous awards and honors throughout his career. He was inducted into the Copywriters Hall of Fame in1964, received the The Man of the Year of Advertising Award in 1964 and 1965, and The Pulse Inc., Man of the Year Award in 1966. He was also named "Top Advertising Agency Executive" in 1969. In1976 he received the American Academy of Achievement Award and was inducted into the American AdvertisingFederation Hall of Fame and later the Art Directors Hall of Fame in 1983.


Outside the advertising industry, Bernbach was a Distinguished Adjunct Professor at New York University and lectured at Harvard Business School & the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He was vice chairman of Lincoln Center's film committee and was on the board of directors of the Legal Aid Society, the Salk Institute for Biological Studies, the Mary Manning Walsh Home and the Harper's Magazine Foundation. He received the Madden Memorial Award in 1968 and the Parsons School of Design Diamond Jubilee Award in 1972. He was a member of the advisory committee of the Kennedy School of Government at Harvard & the Communications Committee of the Harvard Medical School and the recipient of the American Jewish Committee’s Human Relations Award.

But beyond all this, his greatest achievement may have been his ability to nurture and inspire talent. Out of DDB’s ranks came some of the most notable creative stars in the business.

One Club Hall of FameArt Directors Hall of Fame

Jerry Della Femina - 2008Robert Gage - 1972

Diane Rothschild - 2005George Lois - 1978

Roy Grace - 1994Helmut Krone - 1979

George Lois - 1984
William Taubin - 1981
Bob Gage - 1984Bill Bernbach - 1983

Helmut Krone - 1984Sam Scali - 1984

Bob Levenson - 1972Len Sirowitz - 1985

Ron Rosenfeld - 1971Roy Grace - 1986

Mary Wells Lawrence - 1969
Bert Steinhauser - 1988
Phyllis Robinson - 1968Rick Levine - 1992

Julian Koenig - 1966

Bill Bernbach - 1964